South Florida’s Winston Barnes is recipient of 2018 Jamaica National Honor

August 31, 2020

first_imgIn sparse recognition of the Jamaica Diaspora, City of Miramar Commissioner and Radio WAVS veteran broadcaster, Winston Barnes, is one of only two Jamaican Americans who are among 130 recipients of hors and awards announced by the Jamaican government on August 6, the 56th anniversary of Jamaica’s independence.Barnes was awarded the Order of Distinction in the rank of Commander, for “dedication to the Jamaican music industry and media.”Congresswoman Yvette Clarke Caribbean American Congresswoman from New York, Yvette Clarke was also honored with the Order of Distinction – Commander. The congresswoman was honored for “Distinguished contribution in safeguarding the Interests of Jamaican nationals in the USA Diaspora on immigration matters.”Belafonte receives highest honor The highest honor awarded, the Jamaica Order of Merit went to the perennially popular Jamaican-American entertainer Harry Belafonte and civil rights activist for “outstanding contribution in the field of music.” The Jamaican honors and awards will be presented to the recipients at a special ceremony on the grounds of Kings House, the residence of Jamaica’s Governor General on National Heroes Day, October 15. Order of Jamaica The second highest honor, the Order of Jamaica, was awarded to:Godfrey Dyer, Chairman of the Tourism Enhancement Fund, for “exceptional contribution in the field of tourism”; Chief Executive Officer of the Jamaica National Group Earl Jarrett, for “exceptional contribution to the banking and financial sectors, public service and volunteerism”; singer/song writer and actress Grace Jones for “exceptional contribution in the field of Entertainment internationally”; and Giuseppe Francesco Maffessanti for his “exceptional contribution to the construction industry, social development, welfare and philanthropy.”Other recipients of OD-Commander Among those have been also honored with the Order of  Distinction in the rank of  Commander are Michael Ammar Junior; Olympian swimmer Alia Atkinson; Mayor of  Montego Bay Homer Davis; Justices Courtney Daye and Leighton Pusey; Trade Unionist Senator Kavan Gayle; politician Maxine Henry-Wilson, business woman Jean Lowrie-Chin,and Jamaica’s high commissioner to the United Kingdom Seth George Ramocan.Recipients OD – Officer  Some of the recipients of  the Order of  Distinction in the rank of  Officer include entertainer Winston “Yellowman” Foster, broadcaster Dermot Hussey; cultural commentator Barbara Blake-Hannah; writer/storyteller Joan Andrea Hutchinson, former Deputy Commissioner of  Police Novelette Grant and Chief  Education Officer in the Education Ministry Dr Grace McLean.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *