Ohio Farm Bureau Federation Foundation scholarships

December 18, 2019

first_imgShare Facebook Twitter Google + LinkedIn Pinterest Twelve young Ohioans have been named recipients of $1,500 college scholarships from the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation Foundation. Supported by the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation, the foundation annually recognizes Ohio students for their academic effort, engagement in their communities and career interests that link agriculture to community service, education or scientific research.Scholarship winners for 2015 are Brooke Anderson of Xenia, Emily Bauman of Otway, Kristen Eisenhauer of Shiloh, Amy Jo Frost of Bloomingburg, Nicki Gordon-Coy of Carrollton, Brianna Gwirtz of Shelby, Rachel Hand of Lewis Center, Ella Grace Jackson of De Graff, Matthew Klopfenstein of Haviland, Abigale Motter of Mansfield, Amanda O’Reily of Middlefield and Lindsay Overmyer of Fremont. Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Scholar AwardFrost, Motter and Overmyer are recipients of the Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Scholar Award, which recognizes students for academic effort, community service and career interests that use agriculture to enhance the partnership between farmers and consumers. Frost is a 2009 graduate of Miami Trace High School, 2014 graduate of Ohio State University and is currently pursuing a master’s degree in agricultural and extension education. Motter is a 2015 graduate of Crestview High School and will attend Ohio State University in the fall, studying animal science. Overmyer is a 2013 graduate of Fremont Ross High School and is currently attending Wilmington College. Women’s Leadership in Agriculture ScholarshipAnderson, Gordon-Coy and O’Reily were honored by The Women’s Leadership in Agriculture Scholarship Program, which was established by the Charlotte R. Schmidlapp Fund, Fifth Third Bank, Trustee. The fund is one of the oldest in the nation and supports academic institutions, social service and charitable organizations providing opportunities “to ennoble, to uplift and to strengthen the lives of young women.” Anderson is a 2015 graduate of Cedarville High School and will be attending Ohio State University in the fall. Gordon-Coy is a 2003 graduate of the University of Akron and is pursuing a master’s in agriculture integrated resource management from Colorado State University. O’Reily is a 2015 graduate of Notre Dame-Cathedral Latin School. Darwin Bryan ScholarshipBauman, Eisenhauer and Klopfenstein are winners of the Darwin Bryan Scholarship. The program commemorates Darwin R. Bryan, whose enthusiastic leadership during his 37 years of service to Ohio Farm Bureau has been an inspiration to rural youth throughout Ohio. Bauman is a 2015 graduate of Ohio Valley Career and Technical Center and will attend Ohio State University to study community and extension education and integrated language arts/English education. Eisenhauer is a graduate of Shelby Senior High School. Klopfenstein is a 2014 graduate of Wayne Trace High School and currently studying agricultural engineering at Ohio State University. Cindy Hollingshead ScholarshipGwirtz, Hand and Jackson are winners of the Cindy Hollingshead Scholarship. The program was established in memory of Ohio Farm Bureau’s 39-year executive secretary who passed away in 2011. Hollingshead was instrumental in the development of Ohio Farm Bureau’s service to its members and a leader in her community. Gwirtz is a 2014 graduate of Shelby High School and is currently attending Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute. Hand is a 2015 graduate of Olentangy High School and will attend Michigan State University in the fall. Jackson is a 2015 graduate of Riverside High School. Families and individuals wishing to establish their own life gifts to enhance scholarships and service programs have the opportunity to become involved in the Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Bequest Society. More information on these and other programs can be found at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *